Calgary Inferno Are the 2019 Clarkson Cup Champions

Toronto, ON. (March 24, 2019) – The Calgary Inferno led the league in the regular season and today claimed the championship title in the Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) Clarkson Cup Final against Les Canadiennes de Montreal at the Ricoh Coliseum in Toronto.

Calgary got an early start and went up 2-0 in the first period, though Montreal battled in the second to bring the game within one, 3-2 at the break. Heading into the final period, the game was close, though after what would have been a tying goal from Montreal was disallowed at the start of the third period, Calgary worked hard to bury a couple more goals and claim the title.

Calgary’s Zoe Hickel was named first star of the game with two goals. Montreal’s Ann-Sophie Bettez earned the second star on her two goals scored in the second period, rallying to bring her team within one goal. Calgary’s defender Kacey Bellamy earned the third star of the game with two assists. Brianna Decker was named MVP with a goal in the game.

Halli Kryzaniak and captain Rebecca Johnston also put goals on the board for the winning team in the 5-2 final.

Montreal’s Emerance Maschmeyer faced 30 shots on net while Calgary’s Alex Rigsby, goaltender of the year, faced 27 shots.

The two teams finished one and two in the regular season. Calgary was four points ahead and won four out of the six regular season games against rival Montreal.

This was Calgary’s second Clarkson Cup victory in the franchise history.

Recent Clarkson Cup Champions:
2019- Calgary Inferno (5) vs. Montreal (2)
2018- Markham Thunder (2) vs. Kunlun Red Star (1) (OT)
2017- Les Canadiennes de Montréal (3) vs. Calgary Inferno (1)
2016- Calgary Inferno (8) vs. Les Canadiennes de Montréal (3)
2015- Boston Blades (3) vs. Montreal Stars (2) (OT)
2014- Toronto Furies (1) vs. Boston Blades (0) (OT)

The team will announce celebration plans and media appearances as soon as possible.