Alex Rigsby wins goaltender of the year award

March 23, 2019 – Toronto, ON – On Friday evening Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL) players gathered at Ryerson University`s Mattamy Athletic Centre to celebrate accomplishments from the season. The CWHL Awards were presented by the National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA). Calgary’s Alex Rigsby took home the award for outstanding netminding.

“I was very surprised, I wasn’t expecting it at all,” commented Rigsby. “The two other nominees are incredible goaltenders who, when I’m playing them, I know I need to bring it because they’re going to be bringing their best. It’s just an honour to be nominated alongside them.”

NHL Alumni Glen Healy, Nik Antropov and Pat Flatley presented Calgary Inferno netminder Alex Rigsby with the Goaltender of the Year award after she put up an incredible season in her Rookie year with the CWHL (14-2-1). Rigsby finished the season with a 2.04 GAA and 0.916 save percentage. Rigsby was part of the US Women’s National team at the 2018 Winter Olympics, where they took home their first gold medal in 20 years. She also participated in the Rivalry Series and in the Four Nations Cup in November, where USA took home the gold medal. Rigsby has also been named to Team USA at the upcoming World Championship.

Rebecca Johnston accepted the Chaiman’s Trophy for the Inferno’s first place finish in the league during the regular season.

“It’s an honour to accept this award for the team,” remarked Johnston who was a nominee for MVP. “It’s been a great season winning the league this year and we have so much talent and it’s a great group of girls and a lot of fun.”

Other nominations from the Inferno included Rebecca Leslie for rookie of the year, Ryan Hilderman for coach of the year, Kacey Bellamy for defender of the year, and Brianne Jenner for the Jayna Hefford Trophy for the most outstanding player as nominated by players.

After an incredible 50-point season Marie-Philip Poulin collected three awards including the Angela James Bowl for her outstanding performance (23 G, 27 A). She was also recognized for her leadership and performance this year, winning the CWHL MVP as voted by the coaches and staff and the Jayna Hefford Trophy as voted by her peers. The Jayna Hefford Trophy was presented in partnership with the NHLPA by Karell Emard and Maria Dennis

Winners include:

Angela James – Marie-Philip Poulin, Montreal
Chairman’s Trophy – The Calgary Inferno
Rookie of the Year – Victoria Bach, Markham
Defenceman of the Year –Erin Ambrose, Montreal
Goalie of the Year – Alex Rigsby, Calgary
Coach of the Year – Jim Jackson, Markham
Jayna Hefford Trophy – Marie-Philip Poulin, Montreal
CWHL MVP – Marie-Philip Poulin, Montreal

The Inferno will face off against Les Canadiennes de Montreal in the the Clarkson Cup final on Sunday at 10 am MT at Coca-Cola Coliseum.  Tickets are available by visiting For fans out of the area, the game will be broadcast live on Sportsnet and Sportsnet now.

The Inferno are hosting a viewing party at Schanks North at 10 am. Tickets are available at the bar or at . Kids are welcome and get in free.